Community

Dask is used and developed by individuals at a variety of institutions. It sits within the broader Python numeric ecosystem commonly referred to as PyData or SciPy.

Discussion

Conversation happens in the following places:

  1. Usage questions are directed to Stack Overflow with the #dask tag. Dask developers monitor this tag and get e-mails whenever a question is asked
  2. Bug reports and feature requests are managed on the GitHub issue tracker
  3. Chat occurs on at gitter.im/dask/dask for general conversation and gitter.im/dask/dev for developer conversation. Note that because gitter chat is not searchable by future users we discourage usage questions and bug reports on gitter and instead ask people to use Stack Overflow or GitHub.
  4. Monthly developer meeting happens the first Thursday of the month at 4pm UTC (11am in New York, 8am in Los Angeles, 12am in Beijing) at https://appear.in/dask-dev

Asking for help

We welcome usage questions and bug reports from all users, even those who are new to using the project. There are a few things you can do to improve the likelihood of quickly getting a good answer.

  1. Ask questions in the right place: We strongly prefer the use of StackOverflow or Github issues over Gitter chat. Github and StackOverflow are more easily searchable by future users, and therefore is more efficient for everyone’s time. Gitter chat is strictly reserved for developer and community discussion.

    If you have a general question about how something should work or want best practices then use Stack Overflow. If you think you have found a bug then use GitHub

  2. Ask only in one place: Please restrict yourself to posting your question in only one place (likely Stack Overflow or Github) and don’t post in both

  3. Create a minimal example: It is ideal to create minimal, complete, verifiable examples. This significantly reduces the time that answerers spend understanding your situation, resulting in higher quality answers more quickly.

    See also this blogpost about crafting minimal bug reports. These have a much higher likelihood of being answered